The laws governing the operation of a motor vehicle while impaired in the state of Kansas are among the most severe of any state. Three-quarters of defendants in a DUI case have no familiarity whatsoever with the Kansas court system. For these two reasons it is highly recommended to retain competent counsel when confronted with a DUI charge. Here are some possible consequences to a DUI charge in Kansas.

1. You are undoubtedly involved in a criminal proceeding.

2. You are also involved in a completely separate and independent administrative license hearing with the Kansas Department of Revenue. You have 14 days to file an application for a hearing before you lose your license.

On the criminal side, the first DUI conviction can lead to surprisingly serious consequences, which may include license suspension. In Kansas, a mandatory 48 hours in jail is required, or 100 hours of community service. The completion of a drug and alcohol evaluation and a possible 8 hour alcohol education class-all at your expense. Other costs include fines which range from $750-1000, court fees, and possibly probation fees.

The second DUI conviction has even more dire consequences and should be aggressively avoided. At this level, jail time ranges from 90 days to 1 year. Fines increase to a range of $1250-1750, court costs increase, as do probation fees. The court will order the completion of a drug and alcohol evaluation and then a treatment program-all to be paid out of your pocket.

The third DUI conviction in Kansas is a felony. Imprisonment will range from a minimum of 90 days to a maximum of 1 year. Fines range from $1750 to $2500 in addition to required court costs, possible drug and alcohol evaluation costs, alcohol treatment programs, and probation costs.

First DUI

  • 48 hour mandatory minimum in jail OR 100 hours community service
  • $750-1000 fine
  • Possible treatment program/drug and alcohol evaluation/8 hour alcohol education class

Second DUI

  • 90 days to 1 year in jail
  • $1250-1750 fine
  • Possible treatment program/drug and alcohol evaluation/8 hour alcohol education class

Third DUI (Felony)

  • 90 days to 1 year in jail
  • $1750-2500 fine
  • Possible treatment program/drug and alcohol evaluation/8 hour alcohol education class

Comments are closed.